RCIA –Becoming Catholic

Becoming Catholic - RCIA

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) is a spiritual journey designed for adults who freely seek the living God and desire to enter the Catholic Church. RCIA participants will be strengthened spiritually during their preparation and at the proper time will receive the Sacraments of Initiation (Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Eucharist). Baptized Catholics who have not completed the Sacraments of Initiation may also participate in RCIA as appropriate to their needs. 

Overview of the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA)

Who is RCIA for?

RCIA is for anyone seeking to enter the Catholic Church, for baptized Catholics seeking to complete the Sacraments of Initiation (Confirmation, Eucharist), and Catholics interested in gaining a deeper knowledge about their faith and helping others on their spiritual journey.

How does RCIA work?

Initiation of adults is a spiritual journey that takes place within the parish community. This journey includes periods for making inquiry and maturing in the faith and liturgical rites marking progress.

Overall, there are four periods in RCIA and several liturgical rites recognizing the seeker’s progress.

Four Periods of RCIA

  1. Period of Evangelization and Precatechumenate – Inquiry: This is an informal time for asking questions about faith in Jesus Christ and is an introduction to Gospel values and the beliefs and teachings of the Catholic Church, an opportunity for the beginnings of faith.
    Rite of Acceptance into the Order of Catechumens: This is a liturgical rite, celebrated within a parish Sunday Mass, marking the beginning of the catechumenate period, as the candidates express and the Church accepts their intention to respond to God's call to follow the way of Christ and enter the Catholic Church. The candidates become catechumens.
  2. Period of the Catechumenate: This is the time for catechumens to grow in faith and conversion to God and more intensely study the faith and teachings of the Catholic Church.
    Rite of Election: This is the liturgical rite, usually celebrated in Lent, by which the Church formally recognizes the catechumens' readiness for the Sacraments of Initiation and the catechumens (now called “the elect”), express the will to receive these sacraments. This rite is generally celebrated by the bishop or someone he designates as his representative.
  3. Period of Purification and Enlightenment: This is the time, during Lent, immediately preceding the initiation of the elect. This is a time of reflection, intensely centered on deeper conversion, marked by celebration of the Scrutinies during Mass on the 3rd, 4th, and 5th Sundays of Lent.
    Celebration of the Sacraments of Initiation on Easter Vigil: This is the liturgical rite, in which the elect are initiated through the Sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation, and the Holy Eucharist. The celebration of this rite occurs during the Easter Vigil, the most solemn Mass of the liturgical year.
  4. Mystagogy or Period of Postbaptismal Catechesis: This is the time (in Easter season) following the celebration of the Sacraments of Initiation (Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist), during which the newly initiated (neophytes) experience being fully a part of the Christian community particularly by participation with all the faithful in the Sunday Eucharistic celebration.

When and Where is RCIA?

RCIA sessions are held on Wednesday evenings at 6:30 pm- 8:15 pm in the Religious Education building (the PCC) in the Cafeteria.

We provide all the materials you will need for study. There is no fee for participating in RCIA.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Ricky Shoop, Director of Religious Education.   ; (817) 623-2409; Ext. 501


When and Where